Type size - +
Personal tools
You are here: Home Education Programs Adult Programs Audubon Outings

Audubon Outings

Free bird walks with Audubon volunteers as your guides.

Wilson's Warbler - Scott Carpenter
Wilson's Warbler - Scott Carpenter

How do I sign up?

We are using a new, participant- and leader-friendly way to register for Portland Audubon Outings. Please sign up using Meetup.com, an online website/mobile app that facilitates registration for group activities. Our Meetup group is named Portland Audubon Outings. You will first need to sign in or create an account with Meetup to join the group.

Register and join the group here.

For more information call our Adult Programs Coordinator, Erin Law, at 971-222-6119 or email at elaw@audubonportland.org.

Who can attend?

Audubon Society of Portland members and the general public are invited to attend our volunteer-led field trips. People with all levels of natural history experience, from beginning to expert, are welcome. Our volunteers love to bird and to share their enjoyment and knowledge with others.  

Transportation

While there is no fee for our field trips, we expect participants to carpool and share costs with the driver. Carpooling is encouraged for conservation of energy resources and enhanced sociability. Wear your binoculars so people can identify you, especially when the leader will not be present.

Upcoming Outings

 
April 28 (Sat) 9am-11am
Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge
Leaders: Nicki Dardinger and Colleen McDaniel
*especially for beginner birders
 
May 1 (Tue) 7:30am-11am
Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge
Kiwa Trail Opening Day
Leader: April Brown
 
May 2 (Wed) 8:30am-3pm
Tillamook Bay
Leaders: Dick Demarest and Ken Chamberlain
 
May 7 (Mon) 7-11am
Steigerwald Lake National Wildlife Refuge
Leader: April Brown
 
May 10 (Thu) 7:15am-12:30pm
Columbia County Slough
Leaders: Meg Ruby and Mary Ratcliff
 
May 12 (Sat) 7am - 5pm
Butterfly Walk 
Lower Deschutes (we will carpool)
Leaders: Dan van den Broek and Dennis Deck
 
May 16 (Wed) 7:30-10am
Cooper Mountain Nature Park
Leaders: Kathryn van der Horst and Mary Ratcliff
 
May 17 (Thu) 8-11:30am
Jackson Bottom Wetlands Preserve
Leaders: Dick Demarest, Diane Harris, and Meg Ruby
 
May 22 (Tue) 7am-all day
White River Oak Woodlands and Rimrock Country
Leader: Ron Escano
 
May 27 (Sun) 7am - 5pm
Butterfly Walk 
Satus Pass, Washington (we will carpool)
Leaders: Dan van den Broek and Dennis Deck
 
May 25 (Fri) 7-11am 
Company Lake
Leader: April Brown
 
May 31 (Thu) 7:30-11:30am
Sandy River Delta
Leaders: Mary Ratcliff and Kathryn van der Horst
 
June 5 (Tue) 7-11am
Whitaker Ponds Nature Park
Leader: April Brown
 
June 6 (Wed) 8-11am
Powell Butte Nature Park
Leader: Ron Escano
 
June 9 (Sat) 8-11am
Sandy River Delta Park
Leaders: Patty Newland and Nicki Dardinger
 
June 12 (Tue) 8am-2pm
Yaquina Head to Siletz Bay
Leaders: Mary Ratcliff and Dick Demarest
 
June 14 (Thu) 8am-5pm
Mount Hood Lakes
Leaders: Kathryn van der Horst and Karen Chaivoe
 
June 15 (Fri) 7-11am 
Company Lake
Leader: April Brown
 
June 19 (Tue) 7-11am
Washougal River Greenway Trail
Leader: April Brown
 
June 20 (Wed) 7-11am
Sandy River Delta
Leaders:  Linda Magnuson, Kathy van der Horst, and Diane Harris
 
June 24 (Sun) 8-11am
Cooper Mountain Birds and Botany
Leaders: Bonnie Deneke and Dan van den Broek
 
Document Actions
powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy